getting a word in

just sayin hi here. i see my sister and dear bf have been doing a nice job keeping you up to date. tuesday and weds were just unbelieveably crappy. but today is sooooo much better. and, of course, it helps that the results already look fabulous. i expected to be horrified by the bloody bruises and swelling for a few weeks. but there’s none of that here! they’re awesome! now i understand why reconstructed women insist on lifting up their shirts to everyone (though i promised myself a long tome ago i would not be one of those women, so no worries!).

my assessment of this country’s medicalΒ  care as top notch is untarnished. but my sister and i keep saying there is an interesting contrast of forward-thinking and middle ages medicine. namely, they have me on nothing but asprine at this point. i’m not too happy with that. the pain is not so bad. but i think knowing that there’s something stronger waiting in the wings is important. all my US friends that did this had vicodin and what-have-you at the ready.

i hate to be short, but this has already tired me out. i still get head woozy-ness here and there. weird and fatiguing. But i’ve made it through the worst of it. if i complain, just remind me of that sweet fact: the worst is behind me.

PS. thank you so much for you comments and messages. they mean so much!

12 Comments

Filed under breast cancer, life, reconstruction ("upgrade"!), recovery, surgery, this time LAST year

12 responses to “getting a word in

  1. Here fromy WhyMommy – Hope thing continue to go well!

  2. Ree

    Here from WhyMommy – Best wishes on your speedy recovery….the worst is behind you. πŸ˜‰

  3. Ana

    Here from WhyMommy – Keep up the good fight! Many good wishes to you!

  4. Sounds like you’re doing great. Maybe we’ll see you on the next Gild Gone Wild video! πŸ™‚

  5. Kim

    I’m so happy to see a post from you today! I hope that your recovery continues to go well. I’m thinking about you!

  6. Oh… we’ll see if you’re a lifter or a feeler… πŸ˜‰ Since I have one one each (a belly boob & and implant) I like to have people guess which is which.

  7. bon

    here from Whymommy’s…just wanted to send whatever extra “be well” vibes i could scrounge up. glad that the results already look good – that’s got to be rewarding. πŸ™‚

    stayed just to read up on your backstory and journey, compelled by the hair self-portraits, i think. will be back.

  8. NYfriend

    Sending you peaceful, restful, restoring sleep vibes & healing vibes. You’ll be in my thoughts. πŸ™‚

    Hugs,
    WhyMommy’s “NYFriend”

  9. Sarah, you sound GREAT!

    I can’t believe you’re back blogging already — you are one strong woman, my friend! Now go rest and know that we’re all cheering you on!

  10. Hi there Sarah, great to see that you are writing and that recovery seems to be going so well! I’m glad for you.

    If I remember correctly you wrote about a reclining chair and massage chair some days ago? Well, for the reclining chair I cannot help you, but today in Brussels I saw some of these massage ‘pads’ that you can put into a desk type of chair. I’ve seen these in the States before. I thought you might be interested.

    You can find them in a shop called Nature et Decouvertes, City 2 Shopping centre, 203 Rue neuve, Brussels, tel 02/2193632. I warn you, they’re pricy – 150 euro for the simpler one and I think 250 for the more elaborate shiatsu one. I got to try the more elaborate one and it sure felt really good!

    I hope this might be of help to you! Take care, keep the speedy recovering up!

Leave a Reply

