Things Move Fast Around Here

You guys will be mad when I tell you all the things that have gone on that I haven’t mentioned here. Nothing bad. In fact, it’s all pretty exciting. I’ve just had lots less time to write recently, but here goes.

The wedding planning is going along fine. Well, nothing’s been planned yet really. That’s because we were going to have it in October of this year. But then we decided that 08 was going to be a busy year and perhaps it was best to wait a little. So we’ve moved it back to Spring 09. It took me a day to adjust the image I had in my head (ohhh, a Fall wedding – my favorite!) but other than that I’m feeling really glad that we did so. It’s so nice to have a long time to make all the decisions involved. The down side to having such a long lead-in time? I must’ve looked at every single dress, invitation and reception venue on the internet! After a while you pass the zenith of it helping you decide what you want. Then you just descend into the madness of too many choices. ha!

Why is this going to be such a busy year? Well, first I’ve got my last little surgery (date to be set tomorrow). Soon after I’ll be going back to work. Whenever they finally get their act together and get me back on the line, it will involve 2 months of intense work schedules before it backs off to a more controllable time commitment. At the same time Del and I will almost surely be….[drumroll]…moving….to America!

How do I feel about this? Completely mixed. There are a lot of reasons I’m looking forward to it. I don’t think I’ll ever be “ready” to leave Europe though. No matter what, I’ll have doubts about doing so. I just have to remember – we can always come back. Generally I am looking forward to it. I think. Sorta.

That move will (we think) involve buying a place. And GET THIS – I’ve spoken on the phone to a television producer about doing one of those house hunting TV shows on HGTV. Wouldn’t that be hysterical?! All I know is I hope they help us find good properties to look at! It may not work out, depending on the timing of the move. But I’ll be sure to let you know.

So, after all that – whew! – see what I mean about lots of changes? Tomorrow’s setting of the surgery date is the first step to getting these things in line. It’s all going to go so fast. Here goes nothin’…

3 Comments

Filed under life, this time THIS year

3 responses to “Things Move Fast Around Here

  1. My, my… you have been a busy, secretive little girl! Postponing the wedding? Eh. Although, I too love a fall wedding. And moving to America? I want to whoop it up but where will I stay when I go to Europe? 😉

    Seriously, you don’t do the half measures either! A tv spot! How fun! Where will you buy?

    Busy year, indeed!

  2. Thanks for the update. We look forward to having you back herein the states.BTW, please post an updated “hair picture.” I’d love to see how it’s coming along.

    -j

  3. likethisone

    Sarah, one of my sisters was on Househunters on HGTV! I should tell you it was a total set-up. They had already closed on the house they chose, and then the HGTV folks showed them two others on the market, and in the end they of course chose the house they had already purchased.

    They did give them $500 and paid all of their moving costs though! They used a moving company of former prisoners, and they lost control of the moving truck on their steep San Francisco street, crashing into their new neighbour’s Audi convertible…OOPS! Thank god for the insurance!

    It would be so ‘killer’ (sorry, ha ha!) if you and Del went on the show! I’m sure they’re not ALL set-up. And plus, you guys have such a great story. Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

