Wedding Madness

The beauty of a long engagement, I thought, was that I had plenty of time to take the long way around to doing things. The ways that allow you to avoid the money pit of all things labeled “wedding”. You know, the word which automatically jacks up the price on everything from napkins to patience 1000%?

I had researched everything. I thought I was going to be so clever. When the bridal bargain books tell you that you can have any wedding you want for $100, well, I came to believe them. But…the short end of it is…that didn’t end up making any difference in the cost department. (It turns out that you can’t just do research, you also have to be brave. As in, you have to be willing to go with alternative vendors. And you have to jump in with both feel and just roll with it. A task that I pretty much failed at, even as laid back as I tend to be. Of course, you also can’t need to please anyone else – which is just rarely the case, now isn’t it?) Particularly with the invitations, which I have already alluded to the drama that that was. I won’t bore you with the long drawn out story, but suffice it to say that if there was a miscommunication to be had, we had it. Up to and including her delivering the invites weeks late, to the wrong place (which she claims no responsibility for). Gah! But we finally got them and I spent my only 2 days off and home busting butt to get them out. And – YEAY – 98% of them are finally out of my hands! Talk about relief!

And after all the stress that they were, I have to be grateful that half of our guests are Irish. For in the midst of (very expensive) envelopes occasionally getting eaten by the printer, or individual lines smearing across their limited-number of sheeny closures, the Irish addresses made me laugh. Every time. It’s like I was sending invitations to Hobbits (By which I mean only to say that it’s charming). You get address like this:

Mrs. Gail Headly
Headly House
Village Lyrch
County Meath
Republic of Ireland

And that’s it! No house numbers. No zip codes. I know. It’s silly of me. But really. Isn’t it quirky that such places still exist in the heavily industrialized world?

And the beauty of it is, it’s so opposed to the task at hand. Here I am ripping pearlized paper out of a home printer/scanner/copier and balling my fists in huffs of anger…because the place where this envelope will go, to a house thousands of miles across the ocean, delivered to an address without so much as a number in it…is smudged. It just made me laugh, every time. I can’t wait to thank these people at the wedding.

Leave a comment

Filed under breast cancer

Leave a Reply

