For my friends

For those friends who read this blog to keep up with me when I haven’t seen you in a while, I’ve not been showing you much love here. Mostly I’ve just been enjoying a mild summer start in DC. A few museums, a few movies, some al fresco dining.

Yesterday I returned from the training Flight Attendants have to do every year. That’s right, every year we all go to our company’s base training center and get tested on reforming evacuations on every plane, plus CPR and other medical emergency requirements. F/As hate recurrent training – no one likes to go back to the Mother Ship, so to speak. Memories of Barbie Bootcamp linger for decades and we’d all rather avoid going back. However, the company puts together great training programs and once I’m there, and through with the long classes, I’m always glad that we have to do it.

This year the program involved 5 surprise scenarios. Out of a class of 20 or so, each of us are called once to be “crew” on one of the model plane cabins where we practice all this. The crew comes back in, we all pretend to be in flight, and some sort of emergency springs up. We’re then evaluated on how we handle the situation as a crew. And, if I may toot my own horn, I was selected out by the instructors as having preformed my particular assignment “the single best we’ve seen all year long.” (Score!) Am I a “super Stu” or what?

So one more year down, I’m back in the skies all refreshed, still hoping I never have to use any of it of course. Today I’m in NYC, having been released by work for the day, but I was already here last night before I got that notice. So I’ll go spend the night with my friend Wendy, as I’ve been promising to do. (I’ll say hello from those who know her now.) Hopefully I can get back to London/Brussels in the next few days.

Leave a comment

Filed under this time THIS year, work

Leave a Reply

