Good Bones

For my sweet friends and family who are more nervous than I realized (sorry for scaring you, dad!), I’ll get straight to it. I got the bone scan today, a very thorough one, and it came back clean.

I saw Dr. W afterwards and he also seemed relieved. Next step: MRI. Yes, I know – it would’ve been great to skip all the radiation and go straight to the MRI, but that’s just not how it works. Still, the doc said that it’s rare breast cancer wouldn’t show up on a bone scan. That aside, we want to know what’s going on. An MRI will just clean up that slight possibility of sneaky cancer cells and – much more likely – reveal whether I perhaps have a disc issue. In which case he can refer me on to an orthopedist. Or whatever doctor matches what they find.

Right now my MRI is Friday night. (Of course they couldn’t fit me in until the moment that blows through all my upcoming days off and goes straight into my next set of days on call, meaning I’ll have to stay out sick. Garh! Believe it or not, I’m really eager to work! Nevermind whether or not it’s a good idea for the back…) But I’ve left a message with the doctor to see if his office can pull some strings and get me in earlier. Any earlier. Even Friday morning would work fine. So, here’s hoping on that one…

Thanks for worrying about me, guys! Sorry if I made you nervous. All is well in Sarahland. Well, all things considered!

3 Comments

Filed under breast cancer

3 responses to “Good Bones

  1. bigsis

    Good news is always welcome. Don’t go it alone – that’s what we are for!

  2. I’m glad you’ve got good bones. Good luck with the MRI scheduling. I hate those things, so the less time you have to wait, the better!

  3. Jess

    “Or whatever doctor matches what they find.”

    Sympathetic laugh along with you.

Leave a Reply

