A Different Kind of Back Pain

Hi there. Remember me? Perhaps not, as travel privileges + husband out of the country + working part-time (temporarily) = bopping around visiting family and, well, not doing much online stuff (or laundry, or writing, or bill paying, etc…).

After all this time, I finally got in to see the orthopedist – right about the time my back pain was getting better. Who would have thought, it’s only been 2 1/2 months, right? Anyhow, my oncologist wanted me to see him anyway, just to be sure all avenues were checked out, so I did.

This appointment now felt like a new kind of pain, because you see, it costs me $50-70 (after insurance) every time I walk in the door of the hospital. Now, my care is excellent so normally I’m ok with that (I don’t love it, after paying so little in Belgium, but ok). But just now I was reluctant to follow through with two more costly appointments (don’t forget the oncology follow-up) when I’d waited so long to get in that my problem was mostly gone! You see, the bills from my other testing had started to roll in. After a $300+ MRI and I-don’t-even-remember-how-much bone scan, x-ray and oncology appointments…well, there was also just a major dropping of dough on eye stuff, but now I just sound like I’m whining. Point being, my PayFlex account is already burnt for the year (!) so I was hoping to avoid another $100+ for nothing.

But I followed oncology wishes and went. The guy was nice but literally spent 5 minutes with me. Not his fault – he said there was nothing to be done! My tests were indeed clean, it was getting better. Voila. “Come back if it happens again.” (I resisted saying, “and hope this time it outlasts the 6 week waiting period?” but I refrained.) He did say something interesting though as he left. That was:

“Thank you, Ms. D, for starting me off to a good day.”

“I did?”

“Definitely. When Dr. Warren refers a patient to me…well…I don’t usually have good news. And that makes for a very bad day. So I’m delighted to have seen you. Goodbye now.”

So that was a bit of things in perspective, and I see why Warren insisted we be very, very thorough. I cannot fault the man for not taking me seriously. Thanks, Dr. W!

Now I’m off to my big sister’s wedding! An anticipated Spring affair in the mountains of New Mexico. I can’t wait!

Enjoy your Spring!

Leave a comment

Filed under breast cancer

Leave a Reply

